Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to Canon Burrows C of E Nursery and Primary School Early Years Foundation Stage

We have a highly-skilled team of Early Years teachers and teaching assistants, who have a sound understanding of early child development and a great deal of experience working with this age group. Our strong team is managed by Mrs Lataster, our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Lead.

Here at Canon Burrows C of E Nursery and Primary School, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum in Nursery and Reception. From September 2021, Nursery and Reception have been following the new EYFS Statutory Framework.

We believe passionately that:

“Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.”
EYFS Statutory Framework

This framework sets out the educational programmes which must shape the activities and experiences for all children from birth to five years old in order to provide the best foundations for children to thrive. In addition to this, there is the Non-Statutory Curriculum Guidance "Development Matters", which supports the delivery of the Framework. A link to this document can be found here.



Learning and development

The framework includes seven areas of learning that are equally important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly important for sparking an enthusiasm for learning and forming relationships:

The Prime Areas of Learning:
Communication and Language
Physical Development
Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through four Specific Areas of Learning:
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design


You can look at these areas of learning in more detail by clicking on the 'EYFS Curriculum Overview' at the bottom of this page.

You can find out more about what we teach across the 7 Areas of Learning by viewing the EYFS section in each of the National Curriculum subjects they are linked to - go back to the main Curriculum page of this site and select the subject.


Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning

In addition to addressing all seven areas of learning, our curriculum is designed to promote the Characteristics of Effective Learning. These characteristics describe how the children will learn. These learning behaviours are particularly important in the EYFS because they build the foundations for children to be lifelong learners. The characteristics are:

Playing and Exploring - Engagement
Active Learning - Motivation
Creating and Thinking Critically - Thinking


Planning and assessment

We offer the children in Nursery and Reception a 'hands-on' play-based curriculum, both indoors and outdoors, throughout the day. Planning can be intentional, responsive or anticipatory. It is flexible and can change in response to children’s ideas and interests. Planning may also be linked to events in the community or around the world.

“Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, relate to others, set their own goals and solve problems. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.”
EYFS Statutory Framework

In addition to the activities planned by the adults, the children are offered plenty of opportunities to direct their own learning, and staff are highly skilled in observing the children and recognising opportunities to support and extend children's ideas.

All children starting Reception from September 2021 will take part in the Reception Baseline Assessment. Please see the information for parents document produced by the DfE below to explain the process.

At the end of the Reception year, children will be assessed for the EYFS Profile. Each of the seven areas will be further broken down into the following categories. The EYFS profile is a statutory assessment of children's attainment at the end of the early years foundation stage (known as a summative assessment). 

Pupils are assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals, indicating whether they are meeting expected levels of development, or if they are not yet reaching expected levels ('emerging'). The Profile reflects ongoing observations, practitioners’ knowledge and discussions with parents and carers.

We will be offering a range of Parents' Workshops this year to allow parents and carers the opportunity to gain an insight into our practice during this important Key Stage of Learning and offer advice on how to support your child at home. 

Please find additional documents that might be of interest to you. Click on the document to access it.


Files to Download

Student Login